The Eye of the Storm

A friend texted me yesterday to let me know that it had been well over two months since my last post. It certainly didn’t feel like it had been that long, but the WordPress dashboard never lies, and it confirmed for me today that April 20 was, in fact, the last time I posted.

Well, I’m back, but I’m not sure for how long. The house search storm is over – we moved into a new place last week, but in another 16 weeks (or so) the toddler/newborn combo storm begins. Will I be able to post during that storm? Only time will tell. The fact that the process of looking for a house blocked my blogging doesn’t augur well. You would think that the arrival of a newborn would be even more likely to obstruct the flow of my creative juices. On the other hand, looking for houses bores me to tears, whereas I find my children (now that we’ve had our twenty week scan I can’t help using the plural) and the process of parenting endlessly fascinating, so you never know, I may surprise us all.

I am currently reading Dracula (which will get a post of its own soon) and am inspired by the ability of the many diarists in the book (the novel is constructed of intersecting diaries) to write more and more as they get less and less sleep (sitting up all night protecting ladies from vampires is tiring work, and about as close to the experience of actual parenting that most Victorian men were likely to get).

In the meantime, I will try to get some blogging momentum up so that when the babies comes I am in possession of a full head of blogging steam (I appear to have invented a Steampunk idiom) – hopefully enough to get me over the hump that will be the subsequent six months.

Wish me luck.

 

This entry was posted in parenting, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Eye of the Storm

Leave a Reply

