Newborn Again

I’m afraid my blogging is going to shift down yet another gear, from stream-of-consciousness to slow-trickle-of-semi-consciousness. Fear not, I’m not going to bore you with a post about newborns and sleep deprivation (there must be countless of those out there), suffice it to say that I am sleep deprived and so blogging, or coherent thought of any kind, is a bit of a struggle.

On the plus side, being awake for much of the night provides ample opportunity for reflection, and the occasional germ of an idea for a post. The other night, for example, it occurred to me (as I changed Kit Kat’s nappy for the third time) that there seems to be an inversely proportional relationship between the size of a human being and the amount of landfill they produce. I’ve always been a bit obsessed with inversely proportional relationships. I’m not entirely sure why.

Then, as is so often the case in the wee smalls, my thoughts took a dark turn. The idea of the amount of landfill we were producing as a family, led me to reflect on the relationship between busyness, tiredness and unsustainable patterns of consumption.

Before we had children, Susie and I tried hard to be ethical consumers, running through the ‘Is it fairtrade? Is it humane? Is it organic? Is it local?’ etc etc checklist with almost every purchase we made. After we had Tilly, we lowered the bar a bit, shopping more at supermarkets, spending less time reading labels, and occasionally slipping a bit of, what we refer to as, ‘unhappy’ meat into the trolley. But we still made an concerted effort wherever possible to be good global citizens. Tracking down a compostable type of nappy, doing much of our fruit and veg shopping at the local organic co-op, and only using the Lear Jet on the weekend.

And now that we have two kids? Well let me put it this way, the other day I bought a pack of ‘Huggies’ Nappies (there, I’ve said it!) We hadn’t got round to ordering any of the compostable ones that we used with Tilly, and the Newborn size of the fully bio-degradable ones we usually buy as our second string nappy were proving a bit leaky, and I had a hungry toddler begging for a seaweed rice cracker, and they were two dollars off with ‘Everyday Rewards’.

I’d like to say that it won’t happen again, but it probably will. Oh why is Evil always cheaper and so much more convenient?

It is a tragic irony that one of the most compelling reasons to live sustainably – the fact of having children – can make living sustainably so much more difficult…. It’s official, sleep deprivation brings out my underlying guilt (and now I feel guilty for mentioning sleep deprivation again).

In other news, the sun is out, both my daughters are snoozing, and Susie and I are spending this rare opportunity to have child-free time together, in separate rooms, and on separate computers. Who says kids kill romance.

Oops! I jinxed it. Kit Kat is awake. So I should sign off, and get Susie a glass of water, a breast pad and light her cigarette for her.

This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Newborn Again

  1. Wow the ups and downs of a tired mind.
    The second paragraph about inversely proportional relationships sturck me as so random and amusing.

    • rodbie says:

      I also have a thing for Venn diagrams. I think I mention this in a previous post. I reckon we all have particular devices/metaphors/motifs that we habitually pull out to help us make sense of things. They probably do no such thing, but it gives us the illusion of control, and that’s got to be something.

  2. Baz mcgrath says:

    When Sebastian was born we were intent on him having no sugar, eating only biodynamic and never watching television. Six years later with anastasia, and endless sleepless nights, the juggle of three children, and weariness, we had given up on sugar,tv and biodynamics. Now that they are all adults those three things seem unimportant. The quality of our relationships is where my regret lay, not in the food we ate or the products we purchased.

Leave a Reply

