Summertime

It’s been a while since I shared a musical post. Today is actually the first day that I have opened up the trusty old Garageband since Kit Kat was born. It was fun.

I came across a track that I made a few months ago. It’s an attempt to create a groove. The groove is inspired by the Talking Heads’ Cross-eyed and Painless, which I think I must have become re-acquainted with on the NPR music podcast  All Songs Considered (I think I’ve referred to it before. In my very first post, if I’m not mistaken)The track has really held its own over the years, even if the breakdancing in the clip hasn’t (it’s a touch Hip Hip Pantomime for mine).

The lyrical content in the track is inspired by an episode of a great U.S. kids’ show called Yo Gabba Gabba. It’s a show that features a lot of American alternative music acts, and that alone takes it top of the class, in my opinion. The episode is called (yes, you guessed it) Summertime, and itself features some great tracks, like It’s Fun to Make Lemonade and, my personal favourite, Balloons, Balloons. I promise I’m going to ease up on the italics from here on in.

Anyway, I just added some more vocals to the end of the track (just to get back into the groove – ho ho!), and then teleported it up to Soundcloud, so I could embed it below.

The strange thing is that, as I write this post and listen to the track, I can’t escape the feeling that I’ve already used and written about this track in a post before. It’s driving me a bit crazy. I’ve looked back at the last few months of posts, and I can’t find the track, but still the feeling persists.

Please, let me know if you’ve heard it before. I guess that’s the danger when you’ve been blogging for a while, you start to repeat yourself; you run out of hobby horses to ride, and start flogging them to death instead. Don’t be afraid to let me know when my blog shifts from riding to flogging. I can take it.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

