The point

Tonight I had a bath with Tilly. Her hair was well past due for a wash, so we did that first. Her terror of getting water in her eyes always makes it a somewhat protracted process, but we got there in the end.

Then it was my turn. I bent forward as far as my ageing hamstrings would allow, and she rubbed shampoo into my hair and then, using one of her blue plastic teacups, poured seemingly endless cupfuls of water over my head – stopping every so often to praise me for how good and patient I was being.

It was one of those perfect moments: warm water running through my hair and over my face, while a child that is more precious to me than I can believe mirrors back to me the love and tenderness that I’d just shown to her.

There was a point at which I stepped back from the experience, picked it up and turned it over in my hand. And it occurred to me that this was one of those moments in life that prove that it is, after all, better to exist – even with the knowledge of how fleeting life is – than not to exist; that it is better to have a body – even one that will one day fail you – than not to have one; and it is better to be an emotional being – even though some of those emotions are excruciating beyond belief – than not to feel a thing.

This entry was posted in parenting, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The point

  1. Lou says:

    Very profound as usual. I used to love it when the kids copied my behaviour. As a side note when I was pregnant with our Tilly, Jay used to pretend to vomit in the toilet. Thankyou for taking the time to see the extraordinary in the ordinary.

  2. looby says:

    you have touched on what exactly it is to feel alive… Glorious isn’t it?

  3. Dani says:

    Beautiful post Rod.

  4. Kate Hall says:

    How beautiful. And precious. And something never to be forgotten. Always x

  5. kate4samh says:

    You paint a powerful picture. Beautiful.

    • rodbie says:

      Thank you. Though to be fair, a beautiful subject makes painting beautiful pictures a lot easier.

    • kate4samh says:

      Very true that the subject matter helps, but good words none the less. As Lou said above, you recognised the beauty firstly and then translated it. Not everyone can.

  6. veryspeedy says:

    You both moved and unsettled me. You bastard.

    I love you. My friend.

  7. andrewlorien says:

    Did you cry?

Leave a Reply

